Summer School & Activities

  • All students have the opportunity to take part in summer activities at Grand Island Public Schools! 

    GIPS summer programming, sports camps, and extra learning opportunities are for different ages and grade levels — including Islander Athletics. Check the list below for details on dates, and times. Please note the High School level sports camps may carry registration fees. 

    "Every Student, Every Day, A Success" banner image with snapshots of students learning, reading, and working


    ISLANDER SUMMER SPORTS CAMPS - High School

    • Full listing of Islander Camps may be found HERE.
    • Camps include:  Football, Baseball, Boys & Girls Basketball, Softball, Volleyball, Boys & Girls Soccer, and Wrestling. 


    MIDDLE SCHOOL SUMMER SPORTS CAMPS - (6 - 8)

    • BARR 
      • Jr. Islander Power - June 1 - July 27, Monday-Thursday - (7:00 - 8:00 a.m.)
      • Basketball (Boys & Girls) - June 5 - June 28th -  Mondays & Wednesdays - (8:00 - 9:00 a.m.)
      • Football - June 6 - 8 (9:30-10:30 a.m.)
      • Volleyball - 2nd week of August (dates and time TBA) 
      • Wrestling (Boys & Girls)  - June 7 - July 26, Wednesdays - (5:30 - 7:00 p.m.)
      • Boys Soccer - June 12 - June 28 - Mondays & Wednesdays (2:00-4:00 PM)
      • Cross Country - June 6 - June 8 -  (8:30-9:30 a.m.)
      • Contact:  Payton Williams (pwilliams@gips.org

    • WALNUT
      • Jr. Islander Power - June 5 - July 27, Monday-Thursday - (7:00 - 8:00 a.m.)
      • Basketball (Boys & Girls) - June - July, Mondays & Tuesdays - (9:30 - 11:00 a.m.)
      • Barr + Walnut Football - June 6 - 8 
      • Football - June - July, Wednesdays & Thursdays - (8:00 - 9:30 a.m.)
      • Football Led by GISH Coaches - May 11 & 12) - (4:00 - 5:00 p.m.)
      • Volleyball - June - July, Tuesdays & Thursdays - (8:00 - 9:30 a.m.)
      • Girls Wrestling - June - July, Mondays & Wednesdays - (5:00 - 6:30 p.m.) at Islander Annex
      • Contact:  Eon Lemburg - elemburg1@gips.org 

    • WESTRIDGE
      • Jr. Islander Power - June 5 - July 27, Monday - Thursday (6:30 - 7:30 a.m.)
      • Boys Basketball - June 7th, 14th, 21st, & 28th - (7:30 - 9:00 a.m.)
      • Football Led by GISH Coaches - July 24th & 25th - (9:30 - 11:30 a.m.) 
      • Girls Basketball - June 6th, 13th, 20th, & 27th - (7:30 - 9:00 a.m.)
      • Track & Field / Cross Country - July 10th - 12th - (7:30 - 9:00 a.m.)
      • Volleyball - June 12-15 - (10:30 a.m. - Noon)
      • Contact:  Jared Bombeck - jbombeck@gips.org 


    FINE ARTS SUMMER CAMP - Grades 3 - 8 at Walnut Middle School

    • June 5 - June 22 (Mondays to Thursdays) - Flyer
    • 9:00 - 11:50 a.m.
    • GIPS Fine Arts Camp is a free summer camp for students in grades 3-8 to expand their creativity through visual and performing arts experiences.
    • Registration Form
    • Contact:  Kyle Beaman - kbeaman@gips.org


    ARP HCY HOMELESS/UNACCOMPANIED YOUTH

    • Dates - TBD
    • K-12 grades - Support for homeless families to connect to agencies, students to jobs, mental health supports, and summer activities.
    • pre-K - Support for homeless families to connect to agencies, mental health supports, and summer activities. 
    • CONTACT:  Amy Hanna - ahanna@gips.org  (K - 12th Grade)
      Michelle Walker - mwalker@gips.org (PreK)


    OPEN LUNCH AVAILABILITY 

    • Breakfast & Lunch Times - ENGLISH & SPANISH FLYER
      • Barr Middle School
      • Dodge Elementary School
      • Howard Elementary School
      • Lincoln Elementary School 
      • Walnut Middle School

     

    ELEMENTARY (K - 5) SUMMER PROGRAMMING


    BUS ROUTES

    Title I Summer School - June 5th - 29th, Monday - Thursdays

    • FROM: Dodge, Lincoln, Jefferson, Howard, Knickrehm, Starr, & Wasmer - Pick up at 7:30 a.m.
    • TO:  West Lawn and Back - Pickup at Noon
    • Contact:  Daniel Jaimes Diaz - djaimesdiaz@gips.org 

    POWER Camp - June 5th - 29th, Monday - Thursdays 

    • FROM:  Dodge, Lincoln, Jefferson, Howard, Knickrehm, Wasmer, & West Lawn - Pick up at 12:05 p.m.
    • TO:  Starr and Back - Pickup at 3:30 p.m.
    • Contact:  Hannah Luber - hluber@gips.org 


    EVERY DAY A READER CAMP - Home Summer Reading Program

    • Explore "Every Day A Reader Camp" - HERE
    • An opportunity for students to extend and enrich their love for reading through virtual and hands-on experiences.
    • Contact:  Dr. Brittney Bills, bbills@gips.org 


    POWER CAMP - Starr Elementary

    • June 5 - June 29; 12:30 - 3:30 p.m.
    • Students in 2nd - 5th Grades that attend Dodge, Jefferson, Knickrehm, Howard, Lincoln, Starr, Wasmer, or West Lawn
    • Registration Form - HERE
    • Hear more about Power Camp on "The GIPS Cast"!
    • Contact:  Hannah Luber - hluber@gips.org  
      Bianca Ayala - bayala@gips.org 


    SPECTACULAR SUMMER - Lincoln Elementary

    • June 5 - June 29: 12:30 - 3:30 p.m.
    • Contact:  Liang O'Brien - lobrien@gips.org 


    SUMMER STRONG; TITLE I - West Lawn Elementary

    SUMMER SCHOOL - Howard Elementary


    ELEMENTARY ESY - Shoemaker Elementary

    • June 5 - June 29; 8:00 a.m. - Noon
    • Monday - Thursday
    • Sack Breakfast Provided
    • Contact:  Morgan Wheeler - mlwheeler@gips.org  

     

    MIDDLE SCHOOL (6-8) SUMMER PROGRAMMING:


    BARR SUMMER ACADEMY - Barr Middle School


    WALNUT SUMMER ACADEMY - Walnut Middle School

    • June 5 - June 29; 8:00 a.m. - Noon
    • Breakfast and Lunch will be served.
    • Contact:  Jami Barrientos - jbarrientos@gips.org 


    WESTRIDGE SUMMER ACADEMY - Westridge Middle School


    JUMPSTART6

    • August 1st & 2nd at all middle schools (Barr, Walnut, & Westridge) 

     
    SECONDARY ESY - Walnut Middle School

    • June 5 - June 29; 9:00 a.m. - Noon
    • Contact:  Molly Elge - melge@gips.org 

     

    HIGH SCHOOL (9-12) SUMMER PROGRAMMING:

     

    GRIT ROBOTICS CAMP - Grand Island Senior High (Incoming Freshmen)

    • FREE Summer camp for current middle school students to learn how to build and code robots!
    • June 26th - 30th, Monday - Friday; Noon - 4:00 p.m. - FLYER
    • Grand Island Senior High - Room 118
    • Contact:  Alex Kemnitz - akemnitz@gips.org 

    BEYOND THE ISLAND - Grand Island Senior High

    • Free after-school program for High School students.
    • At "Beyond the Island" we envision a future where all students have access to high quality educational opportunities that foster a love for learning while supporting their academic success.  Our goal is to engage students and create relationships that promote academic growth in a non-traditional academic setting.  By giving our students their own voice in choice and opportunity, we hope to help them achieve success at whatever they choose to do.   
    • Contact:  Matt Shultz - mshultz@gips.org 

    CREDIT RECOVERY - Wyandotte Learning Center

    • June 5 - June 29; 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
    • Breakfast will be provided - 7:30 - 8:00 a.m.
    • Address:  315 Wyandotte St. Grand Island, NE 68801
    • Phone:  308.385.5945
    • Contact:  Alex Niederklein - aniederklein@gips.org 


    MIGRANT - Career Pathways Institute

    • June 5 - June 29; 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
    • July 5 - July 14; 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
    • Breakfast will be provided - 7:30 - 8:00 a.m.
    • Address:  1215 S Adams St. Grand Island, NE 68801
    • Phone:  308.385.5601
    • Contact:  Alex Niederklein - aniederklein@gips.org 


    EL & IMMIGRANT - Career Pathways Institute

    • June 5 - June 29; 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
    • Breakfast will be provided - 7:30 - 8:00 a.m.
    • Address:  1215 S Adams St. Grand Island, NE 68801
    • Phone:  308.385.5601
    • Contact:  Alex Niederklein - aniederklein@gips.org