Summer School & Activities

  • All students have the opportunity to take part in summer activities at Grand Island Public Schools! 

    GIPS summer programming, sports camps, and extra learning opportunities are for different ages and grade levels — including Islander Athletics. Check the list below for details on dates, and times. Please note the High School level sports camps may carry registration fees. 

    TRANSPORTATION: GIPS SUMMER SCHOOL BUS ROUTES

    All routes include morning, noon, and afternoon routes. Note the times and pickup/drop-off locations for each route.

    • Route #1 (Dodge, West Lawn, Starr) 
    • Route #2 (Lincoln, West Lawn, Starr)
    • Route #3 (Jefferson, West Lawn, Starr)
    • Route #4 (Howard, West Lawn, Starr)
    • Route #5 (Knickrehm, West Lawn, Starr)
    • Route #6 (Starr, West Lawn)
    • Route #7 (Wasmer, West Lawn, Starr)
    • Route #8 (Lincoln Park, Lions Club, Howard, Walnut, GISH)
    • Route #9 (Cherry St., Wasmer, Barr, GISH)
    • Route #10 (West Park Plaza, Westridge, GISH)


    ISLANDER SUMMER SPORTS CAMPS - High School

    • Click the link above to explore all the opportunities for High School level sports camps led by Varsity and JV coaches.  Please note the Islander Sports Camps may carry registration fees.

    • 7th - 12th Grade Boys Youth Soccer Camp on June 27th & 29th:
      • For boys entering 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, or 12th Grade
      • 5:30 p.m. to 7 p.m. for 7th & 8th Grade
        at Grand Island Senior High Memorial Stadium. Please enter through the West Stadium Gate.
      • 7:15 - 8:45 p.m. for 9th - 12th Grade
      • Cost: $20
      • Please submit completed form and payment at the registration table on June 27 at the West Stadium Gate.


    MIDDLE SCHOOL SUMMER SPORTS CAMPS - (6 - 8)


    FINE ARTS SUMMER CAMP - Grades 3 - 8 at Grand Island Senior High

    • June 6 - June 23 (Mondays to Thursdays)
    • 8:30 - 11:30 a.m.  and  1:00 - 4:00 p.m.
    • GIPS Fine Arts Camp is a free summer camp for students in grades 3-8 to expand their creativity in 3D and 2D art, show choir, music, theatr, and history of music.
    • Registration Form
    • Contact:  Kyle Beaman - kbeaman@gips.org


    ARP HCY HOMELESS/UNACCOMPANIED YOUTH

    • June 6 - June 29, 2022
    • 1st-12 grades - Support for homeless families to connect to agencies, students to jobs, mental health supports, and summer activities.
    • pre-K - Support for homeless families to connect to agencies, mental health supports, and summer activities. 
    • CONTACT:  Amy Hanna - ahanna@gips.org  (1st - 12th Grade)
      Nancy Jimenez - njimenez@gips.org  (pre-K) 


    OPEN LUNCH AVAILABILITY 

    • Breakfast & Lunch Times Flyers - English | Spanish
      • Barr Middle School
      • Dodge Elementary School
      • Howard Elementary School
      • Lincoln Elementary School - (Lincoln's breakfast will run Tuesdays - Thursdays)
      • Walnut Middle School

     

    ELEMENTARY (K - 5) SUMMER PROGRAMMING


    EVERY DAY A READER CAMP - Home Summer Reading Program


    POWER CAMP - Starr Elementary


    TITLE I - West Lawn Elementary


    ELEMENTARY ESY - Shoemaker Elementary

    • June 6 - June 30; 8:00 a.m. - Noon
    • Sack Breakfast Provided
    • Contact:  Morgan Wheeler - mlwheeler@gips.org  


    ENGLEMAN EARLY READING SUPPORT - Engleman Elementary School


    E3:  EXTENDED EDUCATION EXPERIENCE - Stolley Park Elementary

    • June 6 - June 23; 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.
    • Contact:  Whitney Flower - wflower@gips.org


    ELEMENTARY SUMMER SCHOOL

     

    MIDDLE SCHOOL (6-8) SUMMER PROGRAMMING:


    BARR SUMMER ACADEMY - Barr Middle School

    • June 6 - June 30; 8:00 a.m. - Noon
    • Breakfast and Lunch will be served.
    • Contact:  Tina Sawyers - tsawyers@gips.org 


    WALNUT SUMMER ACADEMY - Walnut Middle School

    • June 6 - June 30; 8:00 a.m. - Noon
    • Breakfast and Lunch will be served.
    • Contact:  Desere Erpenbach - derpenbach@gips.org   


    WESTRIDGE SUMMER ACADEMY - Westridge Middle School

    • June 6 - June 30; 8:00 a.m. - Noon
    • Breakfast and Lunch will be served.
    • Contact:  Ashley Meyer - ammeyer@gips.org  


    JUMPSTART6

    • Barr Middle School
      • July 26 - 27; 8:00 a.m. - Noon
      • CONTACT:  Shannon Ripp - sripp@gips.org  
    • Walnut Middle School 
      • July 26 - 27; 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 
      • CONTACT:  Jamie Finecy - jfinecy@gips.org  
    • Westridge Middle School 
      • July 26 - 27; 9:00 - 11:30 a.m.
      • CONTACT:  Hannah Pogue - hpogue@gips.org  


    EL SUMMER - Barr & Walnut Middle Schools

    • June 6 - June 30; 8:00 a.m. - Noon
    • Contact:  Amanda Levos - alevos@gips.org  


    SECONDARY ESY - Walnut Middle School

    • June 6 - June 30; 9:00 a.m. - Noon
    • Contact:  Molly Elge - melge@gips.org 

     

    HIGH SCHOOL (9-12) SUMMER PROGRAMMING:

     

    GRIT ROBOTICS CAMP - Grand Island Senior High (Incoming Freshman)

    • Weekdays, June 13 - 24
    • Noon - 3:00 p.m.
    • GRIT Robotics is a FREE summer camp for incoming high school freshman to learn how to build and code robots.  Get more information on the flyer, HERE
    • REGISTRATION FORM
    • Contact:  Alex Kemnitz - akemnitz@gips.org

    CREDIT RECOVERY - Wyandotte Learning Center

    • June 6 - June 30; 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
    • July 5 - July 28; 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
    • Breakfast will be provided
    • Contact:  Alex Niederklein - aniederklein@gips.org  


    MIGRANT - Career Pathways Institute

    • June 6 - June 30; 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
    • July 5 - July 28; 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
    • Breakfast will be provided
    • Contact:  Alex Niederklein - aniederklein@gips.org  


    EL & IMMIGRANT - Career Pathways Institute

    • June 6 - June 30; 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
    • Breakfast will be provided
    • Contact:  Alex Niederklein - aniederklein@gips.org