Board of Education

Board of Education


Our Board of Education consists of nine members representing three wards. We are dedicated to providing optimal opportunities for the success of every student, sharing the belief that no community can rise to a level greater than that of its public schools.

Our Board works with the administrative team to develop district goals annually. With a focus on the future we have seen dramatic improvement in student learning results.

We appreciate the community's continuing support for our work.

Bonnie Hinkle, School Board President

Board members

The nine members of the Board of Education for Grand Island Public Schools are elected in three wards (three board members per ward) by registered voters of the school district. Elections are held every two years. Board of Education members serve four-year terms and receive no compensation for their work. The board is responsible for establishing the policies under which the school system operates. They must also act within the framework of rules set forth by the Nebraska State Board of Education and Nebraska and federal laws. Board members must represent the unique needs of their ward and the community. 


Ward B:
Bonnie Hinkle President
Term Expires: 12/2018
Heidi Schutz Member
Term Expires: 12/2020
Lisa Albers Member
Term Expires: 12/2020
Ward A:
Dr. Dan Brosz Vice President
Term Expires 12/2018
Kelly Enck Member
Term Expires: 12/2018
Terry Brown Member
Term Expires: 12/2020
Ward C:
Carlos Barcenas Member
Term Expires: 12/2018
Erika Wolfe Member
Term Expires: 12/2022
Roger Harms Member
Term Expires: 12/2020