Grand Island Public Schools
123 South Webb Road
Grand Island, NE 68802
Your Legacy.
Their Opportunity.

Enhancing opportunities by seeking and securing resources for projects, scholarships and programs.

Access digital copies of our district flyers.

Improving school-to-home communication by distribute school flyers directly to families digitally.

GISH announces 2020 inductees into Athletic Hall of Fame

Grand Island Senior High activities director Cindy Wells has announced the 2020 inductees to the Grand Island Senior High Athletic Hall of Fame. The inductees will be recognized at halftime of the Islander boys basketball game versus Norfolk, February 14, at 7:30 p.m. A banquet honoring the inductees will be at Balz Banquet Hall, 213 N. Sycamore Street in Grand Island, on Saturday, February 15, at 10 a.m. Tickets can be purchased at the Grand Island Senior High activities office or at the door for $20. 

The 2020 Grand Island Senior High Athletic Hall of Fame inductees are:

  • Alex Armes Tjaden - Girls Track
  • Gary Baldwin - Wrestling
  • Megan Bartlett Brown - Girls Golf
  • Jeremy Buckner - Boys Track
  • Jana Frymire Flannigan - Girls Swimming
  • Cody Levinson - Boys Basketball
  • Kerry McDermott - Boys Tennis
  • Stacia Robertson - Girls Basketball
  • Randy Spiehs - Baseball
  • RD Spiehs - Baseball
  • Dusty Stamer - Boys Track
  • Erin Shonsey Murnan - Girls Tennis
  • Lucas Venegas - Boys Soccer
  • Elizabeth Wegner Busch - Volleyball
  • Holly Yencer Rathman - Girls Track


  • 1973 Girls Track Team
  • 1973 Wrestling Team


  • Dave Vondra


  • Carroll (Bing) Ward

The Athletic Hall of Fame Council Members are Dr. Robin Dexter, Jeff Gilbertson, Will Armstrong, Kelli Jeffries, Jay Hehnke, Kelly Ward, Vic Nelson, Al Satterly, Jeff Stern and Larry and Betsy Uhing.

Media Inquiries
Jack Sheard, Marketing & Communications
308-385-5900 Ext. 1127