Grand Island Public Schools
123 South Webb Road
Grand Island, NE 68802
Your Legacy.
Their Opportunity.

Enhancing opportunities by seeking and securing resources for projects, scholarships and programs.

Access digital copies of our district flyers.

Improving school-to-home communication by distribute school flyers directly to families digitally.

GIPS Foundation celebrating 30 years of Academic Aristocrats

On Wednesday, April 17, the GIPS Foundation will celebrate 30 years of giving scholarships to the top 15% of the Grand Island Senior High graduating class through the Academic Aristocrat Scholarship program. This program was initiated by former Superintendent Marv Maurer in memory of his wife Dorothy.

The program offers scholarships for qualifying students who graduate in the top 15% of their class at Grand Island Senior High. Sixty-five scholarships will be awarded in 2019 as part of this program. The scholarships range from $500 to $1,500.

A Legacy of Excellence

“If learning isn’t fun, you are doing it wrong!” Dorothy Maurer regularly expressed this sentiment to friends and colleagues. Mrs. Maurer was a master teacher. She would often lower her voice in her room of energetic third graders to get their attention. When Mrs. Maurer spoke quietly, the children listened. She was a champion for their success and they knew it. Frequently she would spend an entire evening working on a lesson or project for just one child who needed a little extra attention. Her influence was cut short by a courageous fight with cancer in 1988. Upon her death, so many of her former students sent memorials and their condolences at the loss of their talented teacher.

Dorothy’s family, including former superintendent Marv Maurer and their children Carmen and Joel, initiated an endowed scholarship in Dorothy’s memory so she could continue to invest in the students she loved, forever. The first Dorothy N. Maurer scholarship was awarded in 1989. 2019 marks the 30th consecutive year that Mrs. Maurer’s fund has offered a scholarship. The criteria for the scholarship reflects Mrs. Maurer’s zest for learning and appreciation of tenacity and excellence. The scholarship is awarded each year to the student who ranks number 1 in his/her graduating class and has the highest ACT score.

Academic Aristocrat Scholarship Program

Mrs. Maurer’s scholarship was one of the first endowed scholarships and the driving force behind the Academic Aristocrat Scholarship program. Through the generosity of many donors, this program offers scholarships for all qualifying students who graduate in the top 15% of their class at Grand Island Senior High.

The reception which is sponsored by Home Federal Bank will begin at 6:45 p.m. in the foyer of the auditorium at Grand Island Senior High. The presentation of 2019 Honor Students will be at 7:30 p.m. in the Auditorium.

All students at Grand Island Senior High who graduate in the top 15% of their class, and have submitted a GIPS Foundation scholarship application, will be awarded at least one scholarship through the Grand Island Public Schools Foundation’s Academic Aristocrat Scholarship Program. Honor students will receive a total of $46,450 at this event.
The Grand Island Public Schools Foundation has served as a tax-exempt vehicle for various individuals and businesses to award scholarships on an annual basis.

The top 15 percent of graduating GISH seniors to be honored on Wednesday:

Fatima Amaya
Britiney Baker
Allison Blair
Ryann Burmeister
Axel Camacho Del Rio
Grant Cole
Alex Costilla
Jocelyn Covarrubias
Lauren Eihusen
Qasim Eissa
Lydia Eliason
Karlea Fosket
LaKeisha Friedrichsen
Maria Garcia
Emmaline Goodman
Emmalee Greuter
Samuel Harvey
Isabelle Hatfield
Camdyn Hehnke
Jose Hernandez Rodriguez
Andrew Hirchert
Abigail Hornady
Taylor Jenkins
Hope Jensen
Aysha Keopanya
Tori Kleint
Abbey Kneale
Riley Krolikowski
MacKenzie Kunzman
Mallory Lemburg
Gabrielle Lockard
Fernando Lopez
Rigoberto Lopez Rios
Anahi Madrid-Corral
Amber Magallon
Lahiza Malvais Rosas
Enrique Martinez
Gladys Martinez Cruz
Karen Maxon
Kiara McInturf
Sherlyn Morales
Clarissa Orona
Osaira Ovando
Osvaldo Palma Vargas
Tyler Pikop
Alexis Price
Redmond Reed
Benjamin Reilly
Leavitt Reno
Joana Reyes
Andrea Rhoads
Rianne Rodriguez
Mickayla Sheets
Timothy Sikes
Austin Smith
Kylee Sodomka
Brock Strehle
Carolina Thompson
Savannah Thornton
Noah Vahle
Isaiah Valverde
Yazmin Vera
Dalton Vieth
Keyin Wentling
Noelle Whitaker
Camryn Wiegert
Joshua Wiemers
Shannon Woodward

Media Inquiries
Jack Sheard, Marketing & Communications
308-385-5900 Ext. 1127