2017 Islander Summer Sports Camps


All students have the opportuninty to take part in Islander athletic camps for football, boys and girls basketball, volleyball and softball this summer with Grand Island Senior High coaches.

The camps are for different ages and grade levels. Most charge a fee, which is different based on age and sport. Check the list below for details on dates, times and fees.

To register, download and complete the registration form and return it with payment to: Senior High Activities Office, 2124 N. Lafayette St., Grand Island, NE, 68803.

REGISTRATION FORM:  English  | Spanish

The camps:

FOOTBALL

Coach: Jeff Tomlin
Dates/Times:

  • Grades K-5: May 31-June 2; 10:30 a.m.-noon; Memorial Stadium $45
  • Grades 6-8:
    • May 23-25: 3:45-5:15p.m. (Walnut); $45
    • July 24-27: 8-10 a.m. (Westridge); $45
    • July 24-27: 10 a.m.-noon (Barr); $45
  • Grade 9 May 30-June 2; 10 a.m.-noon; Free
  • Grades 10-12 May 30-June 2; 7-10 a.m.; Free

For more info on any football camps: jtomlin@gips.org

GIRLS BASKETBALL

Coach: Alex Michel
Dates/Times: (GISH West Gym)

  • Grades 2-5 June 8; 8 a.m.-2 p.m.; $30
  • Grades 6-8 June 7; 8 a.m.-4 p.m.; $35
  • Grade 9 June 5-6; 1-4:30 p.m.; $40
  • Grades 10-12 June 5-6; 9 a.m.-noon; $40

For more info on any girls basketball camps or open gym times: amichel@gips.org

VOLLEYBALL

Coach: Bill Root
Dates/Times: (GISH Gyms)

  • Grades 3-5 May 30-June 2; 1:30-3 p.m.; $30
  • Grades 6-8 May 30-June 2; 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.; $35
  • Grades 9-12 May 30-June 2; 8-10 a.m.; $40

For more info on any volleyball camps or open gym times: wroot@gips.org

BOYS BASKETBALL

Coach: Jeremiah Slough
Dates/Times: (GISH West Gym)

  • Grades 1-3 June 12-14; 8:30-10:30 a.m. $35
  • Grades 4-8 June 12-14; 10:45 a.m.-12:45 p.m.; $35
  • Grades 9-12 June 5-8; noon-2:30 p.m.; $40 (EAST Gym)

For more info on any boys basketball camps or open gym times: jslough@gips.org

SOFTBALL

Coach: K.C. Hehnke
Dates/Times:Camp at GISH Fields

  • Grades 2-8 May 30-June 1; 8:30-10 a.m.; $35
  • Grades 9-12 July 18-20; 6-8 p.m.; Free

For more info on any softball camps: Khehnke1@gips.org

Tradition of excellence

In just over a decade, Grand Island Senior High athletics have produced:

  • 60 District Championship teams
  • 45 Heartland Athletic Conference Championship teams
  • 50 Individual Class A State Champions
  • 13 Class A State Championship teams
  • 10 Class A State Runner-up teams

AND there are currently more than 50 former Islanders competing at the collegiate level.

FREE PHYSICALS

All GIPS student athletes can receive a free physical on Monday, May 22, at 6:30 p.m. at Grand Island Senior High in the West Commons.

ISLANDER POWER

Islander Power strength and conditioning begins June 5 at Grand Island Senior High.

ISLANDER COACHES

Contact these coaches to find out about other off-season opportunities, or with questions:

  • Boys track: Montie Fyfe, mfyfe@gips.org
  • Girls track: Jeff Stern, jstern@gips.org
  • Baseball: Joe Wells, bwells@gips.org
  • Cross country: Jess McDowell, jmmcdowell@gips.org
  • Boys golf: Jim Jeffries, jjeffries@gips.org
  • Wrestling: Joey Morrison, jbmorrison@gips.org
  • Swimming: Brian Jensen, hgswim@kdsi.net
  • Girls golf: Kelli Jeffries, kjeffries@gips.org